The Forecast Fallacy

Standard

by Matt Visser

Ever before God created us, He knew who we would be, who we would become, and everything we would do. Many people find this concept hard to connect to the belief also held by Christians, that we have free will. People will ask “if God already knows what we will do, then how is it our choice?”, but God’s knowing our choice, before we make it, does not change the significance that we have, in fact, made that choice. God has given us free will, just like when Adam and Eve had a choice, whether to eat from the tree or not to. They made the choice themselves, God did not choose for them to disobey His will, but they did anyways. Though God does not want us to sin, He gave us the choice, and free will to do so. For this reason, humans are not puppets, but are beings who make conscious decisions every day. Many people will continue to hold their belief that  people don’t have free will, because God does know, what they will do. This is not the case, if a person had the ability to see into the future, then their knowledge of the future would not take away anyone else’ free will, it would merely allow them to know what the person would do, before they did it.

Our free will is very real, and we have to make choices every day. Though God could control us, He doesn’t; God’s power is limitless, God could control us all, or He could make everything go away in an instant. God’s power is unfathomable and we can never fully understand it, but we do know this: God has given us free will, we have the choice to do a good thing or a bad thing, or to help someone or not to, we have been given choices and face them every day.

One response »

  1. I love the title of this post!!!
    I can honestly say that although I am religious, I do struggle with the idea that God knows what I am going to do and when I am going to do it. “Before you were born, I called you by name.” It scares me to think that even though God knew I would do something sinful, He’ll still be there for me and still forgive me. Even though God knew I knew better, He loves me no less. Even though God knew I would disobey Him and hurt Him, he created me.
    We asked for free-will – the choice to do bad just came with the gift.

    “…if a person had the ability to see into the future, then their knowledge of the future would not take away anyone else’ free will Love that. Someone once explained it to me like this: God is like a best friend. Although you have choices in your everyday life, your best friend knows what you will choose… that’s not to say you didn’t choose it, it just means you are predictable to them.

Leave a Reply

