In the Remembrance our Canadian Veterans

Standard


by Ayoun Basharat

As I begin to write this blog today, there is a single train of thought that keeps through going through my head over and over. I sit here and ask myself

“That today is the 93th anniversary of the end of WW1, and what can I do to better remember our brave Canadian Soldiers, who served mankind to a level few of us will ever manage to do”?.

I should begin by saying that I am an Ahmadi Muslim who believes in Islam as a religion which unifies all people together, regardless of their faith, their race, or gender.

When looking at the men, and women who lost their lives in WW1, WW2, and the ones currently losing their lives in Afghanistan, I cannot help but feel this slow pain trickle down and sink all the way to the bottom of my heart. Along with this pain, I am also encouraged to learn more to not only remember them, but find a way to carry their memory wherever I go.

The best solution to this problem is, by truly understanding that sacrificing one’s life in the higher good for mankind is the only way to remember to our brave and noble soldiers. The reason why I am able to come to this conclusion is because this is what my faith as a Muslim teaches me. In the Holy Quran, there is a verse which directly states that we are “created for the good of mankind”, and this is ultimately our purpose in life [Ch.3.V-11].

When I let my train of thoughts run further, I cannot help but ponder that those soldiers, who fought and died to protect people who could not protect themselves, whether they were the millions of Jews in the Holocaust, or the Muslims in Bosnia. Our Canadian Soldiers put their lives on the line for the good of mankind as a whole, and by doing so, mirrored what the Holy Quran directs Muslims to do.

There are two sayings of the Holy Prophet Muhammad (P.b.u.h.), which expound further on the matter. He (P.b.u.h.) said that the: “One who is not grateful to mankind is not grateful to Allah”, and that “Loyalty to one’s homeland is part of faith”.

These words once again, make the path clear for us in how we can truly remember our beloved Canadian Fallen, not only on this day but every day. The Holy Quran, as if not emphasising enough, says that “And do not forget to do good to one another” [Ch. 2: V.238].

As I now sit and try to remember all the people who were helpful to me just this day alone, I feel embarrassed when I think about it, how I forgot to thank the person who held the door for in Erie Hall, or who let me borrow a calculator for the Genetics midterm.

In order to truly remember our Canadian soldiers on this day, it demands that we begin a habit of being grateful and thankful to everyone who goes to help us in times of need, even if it’s on the tiniest things.

Finally, pointing out that the service to mankind is the essence of Islam. The fundamental ways in order to remember and be grateful to our Canadian Soldiers in our lives can be done by showing our deep love for humanity, kindness in our hearts for others,  giving charity, observing  humility, honesty and a constant desire to strive in the cause of God by doing good and avoiding all that is bad. This can happen only if we are God-seekers and if we practice righteousness in our daily life, wherever we go.

May we truly do justice to the memory our Canadian veterans who fought for the good of mankind, and may we never forget.

One response »

Leave a Reply

