Positively God

Standard

by JC Girard

It was a long day… I worked as a lifeguard / swim instructor from 9:00AM – 12:30PM. One of the instructors did not show up and, as Senior Leader, I had to deal with that – make phone calls and get in the water to teach her classes while still completing my usual duties. Then I had respite work from 12:30PM – 6:30PM with a little boy who is like four Energizer Bunnies all wrapped into one five-year-old with ADHD and Autistic tendencies. I then met my sister at Tim Horton’s because I had no coat and it was freezing outside (she brought a jacket for me). It was a long day. We walked together to the YMCA to pick up my bike and head home only to find… it was stolen.

My sister did not know what to say. I didn’t know what to say either. I stood there stunned. Maybe I wasn’t stunned; maybe I was just deciding why this had happened. It was a pretty expensive 4-yr-old bike that I left unattended for a little over six hours and it was gone. I have no car nor do I have money for one. My bike was my only mode of transportation and it was gone. I had worked a solid nine hours with no breakfast, no lunch, and no breaks. I have a midterm this Wednesday that I just found out about a couple days ago; I have yet to read any of the chapters let alone write out study notes. The last thing I need to deal with is a stolen bike.

I was calm. I was cool. I was levelheaded. I was… definitely not me. I would have cried. I would have yelled. I would have broken down right in front of the Y with my sister watching me. I would have run around frantically checking to see if the bike was dumped somewhere around there. I would have sworn. I would have been furious. I would… But I wasn’t. I can honestly say that God was with me right then and there. Here was my train of thought: “Someone took my bike… Bummer. I think I should pray for them. I think I will pray that they find God somewhere down the road and get back on the right path. Maybe whoever took it needed the bike more than I did. Maybe this happened for a reason. I wonder what I am supposed to learn from this. Dear God, please help me understand and find a way around transportation.” I don’t know what came over me, but it was not me.

If you have been following my blogs, you’ll know I am a cradle-Catholic – born and raised! Then again, you will also know that I am not an avid prayer. I go to church every Sunday, I live my life as though I were walking with Christ (my Saviour), I treat others as I wish to be treated, but I am not the perfect Catholic… I lose my cool. This should have thrown me off my chain! Instead, I threw a little prayer up to God, I walked home with my sister, I ate supper, and I am now studying. I don’t know how or why, but God was there with me on this devastating night. He warmed my fingers and softened my heart. God caught me before I fell and put me on His shoulders as I walked home. I don’t really understand… I feel like I do not deserve this support in my life but know that it probably makes God so happy to hold me in his hands. I feel unworthy and yet, I feel like I should be accepting this gift from God. It’s hard to explain. God was there. God is still there. It may seem like a petty situation, but it was something that I needed help with; and before I could ask for assistance, I was given all the help I could possibly need in every way I could possibly think of.

A bike is nothing compared to the family that loves me.

Tonight, I will sleep in a warm bed, with a full tummy, a family that supports me, friends that care for me, no mode of transportation, no chapters read from my textbook, and a negative balance in my bank account. Tonight, I will sleep knowing that God will never gives me more than I can handle. Tonight, I sleep.


One response »

  1. Its so amazing the peace that can attend the heart that rest fully in God and let Him take control. Many times we act certain ways because of our selfishness but we learn through suffering. Thanks for sharing. M inspired by these events

Leave a Reply

