Just Getting Started

Standard

by Siddharth Pandya

27th of October 2011 marks the first day of the New Year, after Diwali, according to the Hindu calendar which is calculated based on the lunar cycle. It is a great day of pomp and occasion and is celebrated with much fervour by everyone who considers themselves Hindus. The days counting up to and following the day of Diwali are considered auspicious as well and this amounts to a celebration of a five day long festival, which is indescribable fun to put it mildly. There are many stories which explain the origin and importance of this festival but that is not what I am going to concern you with.

The fact of the matter is that my memories of this day are just as deep and vivid, if not as old, as the myths that have crystallized into the modern traditions of Diwali which is celebrated akin to Christmas by Christians.  It makes me miss the warmth of my parents’ home, that delight in bursting fire crackers and the wonderful little arrangement called the “Diwali Break” in high school which meant a three week long holiday full of fun and time I considered very well spent. I was aware but the religious aspect of the festival did not concern me as much. I would not say I was in touch with my spiritual side earlier when I was enjoying the spirit of Diwali in my break from high school but now I seem to have discovered a facet about myself which is quite surprising.

I have witnessed some eye opening events in my life and that really makes me question my purpose in life when I bow down to God and thank Him for the blessings bestowed upon me, at what is the beginning of a new year. Yet on Diwali I was working and the beginning of a new year felt like any other day; maybe because I was busy and not engaged in the traditional activities associated with the season like usual? I am not sure but, does this make you question my spirituality? I certainly hope not as I still continue to explore and try to come to grips with my actual sense of knowing my personal truth which I know goes above and beyond the traditional notions of religion as I have come to learn. I hope you enjoy taking this journey with me!

2 responses »

  1. “Does this make you question my spirituality?”
    Definitely not… Who are we to question anyone else’s spirituality? I believe that we’re lost enough in our own little worlds that we (or maybe I should speak for myself…) should be concerened with our own spiritualities.

    I think the fact that you can admit you have seen a difference between “then” and “now” is a bigger step than most “spiritual people” have and/or are willing to take. I know for one… I’m in the same boat as you.

Leave a Reply

