An Apology to God

Standard

by Aubrey

“With all my heart I seek you. Do not allow me to stray from your commands! In my heart I store up your words, so I might not sin against you. You deserve praise, O Lord! Teach me your statutes!” – David

The other day I was studying for a test in the morning. My test was at 11:45am and it was 11:15am. I was studying away and after a few minutes I looked at my phone and realized it was 11:45! I was late, I had lost track of time! I packed up and started heading for my class. It was all the way on the other side of campus so I was in a hurry; I even felt my legs burning.

While passing the library, I noticed an older man leaving. I ended up walking behind him and the first thing I noticed was his socks. The back of his socks were worn out at the back of his heels to the point that there was no cloth. I noticed his shoes and the bottoms of them were worn out thin and didn’t have laces. I thought, “Maybe he used his laces for something else, like to tie something.” I smiled at the fact that they stayed on! He was older, maybe in his 60’s. I had hoped he read a good book at the library, not just getting a drink or something. He had a backpack that must have belonged to some little girl who threw it away. It was small, bright baby blue with stars on it. It was dirty, I thought maybe he slept on it. It was really small and he couldn’t quite get it around his shoulders, one of the straps never made it on his left shoulder. His skin was dark from the sun and his body was miss-shaped; he must have had some physical problems. I noticed his stride was long and he was a tall man. His cloths were ragged and greasy from the oil of his skin. He had a consistent stare. I wondered if he was embarrassed. He took a moment and ran his fingers through his thin white hair and he let out a sigh. At that moment I felt something move me to realize, “I have a couple $20’s in my wallet! Maybe he could buy new socks! I bet no one helps take care of him, so I’ll help take care of him a little.” I reached for my wallet. I was excited to help this old man out…then I realized…

I’m late! Ten whole minutes late! I looked to my right and there was the entrance to my test. I might miss my test! I should get in there! The old man walked farther and farther ahead of me…I realized I had stopped at the door. I thought to myself, “If I walk over there to give him this he might get mad at me anyways. I should just go take my test. He’s too far away from me by now anyways.” I walked into the building and arrived. We didn’t take the test until almost ten minutes later. God had already taken care of my time for me. I felt ashamed…

“So listen to the parable of the sower: When anyone hears the word about the kingdom and does not understand it, the evil one comes and snatches what was sown in his heart; this is the seed sown along the path. The seed sown on rocky ground is the person who hears the word and immediately receives it with joy. But he has no root in himself and does not endure; when trouble or persecution comes because of the word, immediately he falls away. The seed sown among thorns is the person who hears the word, but worldly cares and the seductiveness of wealth choke the word, so it produces nothing. But as for the seed sown on good soil, this is the person who hears the word and understands. He bears fruit, yielding a hundred, sixty, or thirty times what was sown.” – Jesus


One response »

  1. Thanks for sharing Aubrey – this hits home with me. I have found myself in this same place far too often.

Leave a Reply

