God, Ultimately is a Mystery

Standard

by Aubrey

Today I’m thinking about who, or what, God is.

I’ve been reading a lot about the Raelian movement, which states that the God (or gods) of the Bible were extraterrestrials from another place. I’m not going to hide the fact that I have thought about this, or that, when reading the Bible, it almost seems reasonable. I even read Genesis and Leviticus this weekend, and I can see why people are attracted to it. But, I am not going to talk about that. I want to talk about what it caused me to think about. Who is God? Or, what is God?

I, also, have to admit that I do sometimes think of God in images. That means, sometimes, God is a ghost, a spirit, or even an old wise man. I am sure a lot of people can relate to this one: God is usually male, rarely female. My mother worships God as a goddess, and I can’t help but think of her when I try to imagine God in a more feminine way. But, I think it is important to remember that God, at least for me, is not really defined except through God’s actions. God, ultimately, is a mystery…much like how I’ve described God as ‘the reason we’re all here’. God, for me, is mostly something to be sought after; more like a question without an answer. My relationship with God is more about knowing there is an answer to the question.

It reminds me that God is more about what God has done (created the Universe, created Man, etc), or what God is doing, or will do, than what God actually is. It’s important for me to know that respecting everything around me and revering how I interact with it builds a relationship between me and God, especially with people. God’s creation is my connection to God. God being the cause of it, God is often found in the effect. For instance when I think of God as love. God becomes loving because we’re here, and being here (the effect) is a loving act from God, the cause. The love of God is found through God’s actions, and I think the most mysterious things about God are.


Leave a Reply

