Carpe Diem

Standard

by Alex Petric

In a week’s time, I’ll be heading back home for Reading Week. While I’m pretty happy to have a week off to visit everyone back home, it’s also making me realize how quickly time is flying by. It seems like only a little while ago I was in downtown Brampton, watching Sam Roberts and ringing in the new year, and yet more than a month has already gone by. Although I’ve made some great memories in the time since, it often feels like I’m just waiting for the end of a class, or the end of the week, or the end of the school year. Time seems to pass me by at times without me actually living in the moment I’m in at the time. When I go to an event, be it a class, a meeting, a social gathering, a sports event, or something else, what do I walk away from it with? Did I fully engage in it, or did I let the opportunity pass me by?

I think one of the greatest wrongs we can do is to let opportunities pass, and this includes letting time pass us by when we could be doing relevant things. However, I don’t mean this to be misconstrued as meaning that we should always be making grand gestures and doing exhilarating, adrenalizing activities. We shouldn’t drop out of school and pursue some fleeting dream just to live in the moment. Sometimes it takes time to plan and prepare for the important moments in life. As well, I feel that as long as we put our heart and soul into whatever we are doing and we are aware of what we are doing at a moment in time, we can live each moment to the fullest, even if we are doing something simple. This can be true for any activity, from a walk in the woods to a conversation with a co-worker.

When we are alone is one of the most challenging times to experience a moment fully. When I’m alone, I sometimes find myself mulling over recent events or thinking about things to come. Sometimes my mind flies off on a tangent without anything truly gained. Oftentimes, people can’t stand to be alone with themselves, so they fix their attention to other external problems that can’t be helped. We should be comfortable with ourselves when we are alone, instead of finding ways to distract ourselves from how we really feel. Otherwise, how are we to be comfortable with ourselves in our interactions with others and God?


One response »

  1. Well said Alex! I’ve been struggling with this whole concept lately, so it was great to read your thoughts and compare them to my own.

    Although spring may still be a couple months away, we should definitely stop and take the time to smell the proverbial ‘roses’ that God plants in our lives everyday!

Leave a Reply

