Eye See…

Standard

by Ally Ferreira

Lately I’ve come to value my alone time and also my time with a person one on one. Don’t get me wrong, I usually don’t do too badly with a room full of crowded people. The thing is, sometimes I prefer to spend time getting to know a person or just getting to know “me”. There are a million ways to analyze someone and you can understand this for its surface meaning by analyzing the way a person walks or sits or even their facial expression. Then you can look deeper and listen to the tone of their voice or (try not to do this creepily) by gazing into someone’s eyes.

I have been modeling for the past two years now and the one thing I love about it is that everyone thinks it’s so easy to take a picture, but it takes a model a long time to capture an emotion through their eyes on camera. You feel so compelled to simply smile because you are happy, but can you smile with your eyes? It’s possible it just isn’t easy. There are certain angles that don’t work for your face shape or body type and you need to become accustomed to choosing the right moment to be in a certain angle. It can be quite a daunting task.

Anyways, as of late I have been in situations where I have gotten to spend quality time with a person. One of those people is my priest. For instance, did you know that he’s the type of person who can take a complicated situation and make it simple again? This past week I was faced with the challenge of making a traditional style Brazilian dinner for 50+ people. I had known about it for about a month now, but the thing I forgot was that on the day of the meal I would be in essentially three classes, two group meetings and filming for another class I’m in. Where would I even begin to have time to prepare a meal for that many people? On the night before the dinner I gave Fr. Chris the news of my revelation.

Remember what I said about there being a million ways to analyze a person? Well, he took a deep breath closed his eyes for a second, then opened them and said, “Okay! Here’s what we’re going to do”.  If that doesn’t spell out “leader” for you, I don’t know what does!

My best friend and I love to spend quality time together; the only problem is that sometimes we both don’t have a lot of time for it. Maybe it’s just us being too busy or too tired or making up too many excuses not to hang out. Either way, I have no idea what it is about her but she has the ability to listen with her eyes. She is the type of person who can be doing a million things at once (on this particular night she was baking cookies) and still be listening to you with most if not all of her attention. When we do hang out I am reminded why she is my best friend. Because out of all the people in this world she is the one person who has not only been there the longest but also listened the longest, and that counts for A LOT in my crazy life.

So next time you’re going through the motion of just having a quiet coffee with a person, analyze their mannerisms or facial expressions, they will certainly tell you a lot of things that don’t appear on the surface.

Leave a Reply

