Tick-Tock Goes the Clock

Standard

by Ally Ferreira

I often wonder what life would be like if there were no such thing as a deadline or a due date. Would we still procrastinate or panic? Would things get done when they are supposed to?

I am currently sitting in a greyhound bus station in Toronto. I suggest that if you are ever bored in a bus station, you should people watch. There is a boy that seems to be in his 20’s wearing a red and grey ski jacket. I wonder what his life is like. Where does he live? What is he doing here? Where is he going? Maybe this boy lives in Ottawa and he was visiting his grandma who is ill and in the hospital. Maybe he is starting a new semester at school in Windsor or Niagara. The possibilities are endless!

I hear the wheels of a suitcase and the high heels of a woman who looks very formally dressed. Maybe she has a job interview in another city or town? There are people who look tired, maybe they’ve been traveling for more than a day. There are also people talking on their phones, possibly telling a loved one that they are on their way and will be arriving home any minute.

The interesting thing about a bus station is it doesn’t matter if a person is coming or going because no one needs to know that. The last time I was here I noticed that there was a net over the ceiling of the building and also that there were spiky metal nails sticking up above the signs that told you in what direction to go to find the bathroom or telephones. I wondered why the heck they would need to put spikes above the signs. I didn’t really think much of all of this until today. I was sitting next to a sign that read, “Please do not feed the birds”. EUREKA! They put the netting above the ceiling and spikes on top of the signs so that birds would not stay in the station! If I had not taken the extra time to stay and figure it out, I would have never known.

We as human beings need to take some time every once in a while to “stop and smell the roses”. Life is too precious to be rushing around all the time. I am glad that I made the decision to come to the bus station early today. My heart isn’t rushing its usual 1358148513904 beats per minute like it usually is when I am traveling. I made sure that I was prepared to have everything in place before I left my house. Everything was packed the night before. I hope that after reading this you might think about the fact that there are moments when you just have to grasp onto the here and now. Stop rushing through things, stop thinking about what is to come next, simply because you’ll miss what is happening NOW ! There is beauty in everything we do in life no matter how simple or “boring” it may be. Take the time to realize this and you will become happier because of it.

I was once told a quote that went like this:
Time is nature’s way of making sure everything doesn’t happen all at once.
Let’s take advantage of that fact and actually LIVE every moment that we can.


Leave a Reply

