Flaws

Standard

by Alex Petric

Like most people, my own flaws are the ones I know best. Even though some people might think I’m a good person, I know I don’t always tell the complete truth, or help others when I can, or speak kindly to others. In short, perfection is pretty far off from where I am. This becomes even more evident when I compare myself with God, Who, under most definitions, IS perfect.

I always find it a bit puzzling that we exist at all. If God is perfect, why create us? Wouldn’t He be happy all by Himself? Yet here we are, and here God is, calling to us to live a life with Him. We all mess up, but God forgives, which is pretty amazing, given the fact that, logically, we really don’t deserve His forgiveness, since our sins make a rift in our relationship with God. And yet, there God is, forgiving us unconditionally.

What’s even more awe-inspiring is that He continues to do this again and again. Many times, people say that they feel that God has abandoned them, but I feel it may often be the other way around. I don’t mean to blame others in saying this; rather, oftentimes we can fall into a cycle of sin that makes it seem that redemption is hopeless. After failing several times in a row to change our habits, we might just give up trying all together. It might seem that God would not forgive us “this time,” especially after deciding that the last time was definitely the last time. And the time before that was the last time, too. And the time before that.

It can feel like a New Year’s resolution that we’ve broken. If we couldn’t hold it together this far, why try at all? We’re just going to mess up again. But really, any day can be the start of a new era. We have to realize that it isn’t us chasing after God, but rather God calling us back to Him. All we have to do is uncover our ears.


One response »

  1. I agree with you Alex, we are not running to God, he has been there all along! He is guiding us and reminding us that we are never alone. I feel so blessed to know that!

Leave a Reply

