Am I Asking the Right Question to Get the Right Answer?

Standard

by JC Girard

It’s no walk in the park. Life’s problems are not solved simply because I believe in a God, simply because I have a Saviour, simply because I have a supporting Catholic social network, or simply because I immerse myself in my religion and my faith. The answer to life is not my faith or my walk with Christ, the answer is that there simply is no answer, there are only questions.

Before I continue, let me give you a tid bit of information: I was raised as a practising Catholic. My family (both my mom’s side, and my dad’s side) are practising Catholics. The majority of my friends were met through Catholic retreats or youth groups.

Growing up was not easy for me; actually, I think that fact that I am proud to say I am Catholic and that I practise my religion openly has made life more difficult for me. (I’m by no means a martyr! Let me explain myself…) Even as a child in grade school, I was consistently tagged stereotypically. My friends would watch what they say around me because they thought I would be judgmental. The most common phrase I heard was “JC won’t, she’s Catholic.” or “Isn’t that against your religion?” I’ve even had people say “What are you complaining about? Don’t you go to church every Sunday?” I fail to see how that should make my life easier. What frustrated me the most was that in many cases, they were Catholic as well.

Sometimes a person who practices religion (and I believe this to be true for most, if not all religions) gets stereotyped simply because they believe in something wholeheartedly. It’s hard to explain why we believe in something – in some cases we don’t even know the answer. But that just makes the “walk in the park” that much harder. But I think that’s all part of the journey.

Notice that the majority of this blog are questions. Notice that the majority of this blog did not have answers. It is not easy to be a practising anything – let alone a practising Catholic. Life, faith, and religion, are not meant to be easy. We’re not meant to have all the answers; we’re meant to ask the questions. Why do we have to ask the questions instead of being given the answers? That’s the first question, and certainly not the last.

“I would rather have 1000 questions without answers, than 1000 answers without questions.”

Leave a Reply

