“Who am I, That the Lord of all the earth, Would care to know my name, Would care to feel my hurt…”

Standard

by JC Girard

My name is JC, and I am a second year student at the University of Windsor studying psychology in the Concurrent Education Program. Last year I was partially involved in the Youth Café after Sunday night Mass, and this year I am as involved as I can possibly be in Campus Ministry, as well as the Café.

I am a–what we call–Cradle Catholic; that is to say, I was born and raised Roman Catholic. For this reason, religion has always played a strong role in my everyday life; however, once I began attending university, I became even stronger in my Faith and even closer to my God. I try to incorporate religion into my life and to never forget to be thankful. I find it very easy to slip into the theme of the 21st Century, and ‘demand’ rather than ‘thank’. For this reason, I make an effort to slow down in my everyday life, and to thank God for the beauty He has given me.

When someone asks me how religion plays a role from day-to-day, I find the question difficult to answer. Prayer seems to be my favorite way of practicing. No one will ever know, but I may run into a friend on the street and hear that they are going through a tough time; as I walk away, I will say a prayer for them in my head. When I get a test back that has a lower-than-expected grade, or when I feel stressed out and unorganized, I offer up my suffering to my Lord and move on with my day. I find that the “Serenity Prayer” (also used in AA meetings) is my best friend; it brings me patience and awareness. To be honest, I talk to my God like He is a best friend, and we have a conversation every day. Some days I am angry, some days I am stressed, and other days, I am forever thankful.

“When life gets too tough to stand, kneel.” – Unknown

Leave a Reply

